HOUSE OF LIFE

A space for the dignity of patients and their families

From the beginning of its activity, The Lalla Salma Foundation has recognized the need to create temporary shelter space for patients who travel to oncology centers in order to receive treatment. The purposes: improving the conditions of care-coverage and reducing the dropout rate of oncological treatment; often long and distressing to patients and to their families as well.

Thus, the concept of house of life was born: a welcoming and an inviting space designed to accommodate patients and their families during the ambulatory treatment period. Besides, they offer to patients catering and entertainment services. On site, patients are accompanied by multidisciplinary team formed of health professionals, psychologists, social workers and volunteers who ensure their comfort and give them the necessary moral and psychological support.

In 10 years, the Foundation had created a large network of houses of life throughout the country. The first house of life was opened in Casablanca in May 2007, and then other houses of life were opened in Agadir, Fez, Marrakech and Meknes. In Casablanca, a house of life for children was also inaugurated to receive sufferer children and their families during treatment period.

The occupancy rate of these houses of life varies between 60 % and 89 % with peaks of 100 %. Each house of life offers annually between 6000 and 12,000 overnight stays for patients and their families which allow them to keep up their treatment in decent conditions.

House of life’s purposes :

- To accommodate patients and their families during the ambulatory treatment period
- To ensure patients’ regular treatment monitoring.
- To give to patients the necessary moral and psychological support.
- To organize social and cultural activities.

More and more volunteers that join the teams of house of life are committed to give help to patients at both personal and professional level: reception, guidance, support, awareness, health education and organization of entertaining and educational activities…

To volunteer, click here

“Adult” house of life of Casablanca: Nador Avenue, EL Fida, phone number : 05 22 83 83 23 - Fax : 05 22 85 29 38

“Children” house of life of Casablanca: Al Qods Boulevard, My Abdullah neighborhood, street 201 Ain Chok,
phone number : 05 22 52 22 52 Fax : 05 22 52 22 05

House of life of Agadir: Near Hassan II hospital, phone number and fax: 05 28 84 09 05

House of life of Fez: Hassan II University Hospital, Sidi Harazem road, phone number and fax : 05 35 61 84 22

House of life of Marrakech: Avenue of faculties Amerchich 40000 near Hassan II University Hospital Mohamed VI, Marrakech,
phone number : 05 24 30 88 88 -Fax : 05 24 30 45 45

House of life of Meknes: Lot Walili, N# 248 Sidi Baba- Meknes – phone number : 05 35 52 20 80

MAISONS DE VIE

Un espace pour la dignité
des patients et de leurs familles

Dès le démarrage de son activité, la Fondation Lalla Salma a pris conscience de la nécessité de la création d’espaces d’hébergement temporaire pour les patients qui se déplacent aux centres d’oncologie afin de recevoir leur traitement. Objectifs : améliorer les conditions de la prise en charge et réduire le taux d’abandon du traitement oncologique, souvent long et difficile à supporter pour les patients et leurs familles.

C’est ainsi qu’est né le concept des maisons de vie : des espaces accueillants et chaleureux destinés à héberger les patients et leurs familles durant la période de traitement ambulatoire, en plus de leur offrir des services de restauration et d’animation. Sur place, ces derniers sont accompagnés par des équipes pluridisciplinaires composées de professionnels de santé, de psychologues, d’assistantes sociales et de bénévoles qui veillent à leur confort et leur apportent le soutien moral et psychologique nécessaire.

En 10 ans, la Fondation a créé un important maillage de maisons de vie au niveau de tout le territoire. La première a été inaugurée à Casablanca en mai 2007 puis d’autres ont suivi à Agadir, Fès, Marrakech, Meknès. A Casablanca, une maison de vie pour enfants a également été inaugurée pour accueillir les enfants malades et leurs parents durant la période de traitement.

Les taux d’occupation de ces maisons de vie varient entre 60% et 89%, avec des pics à 100%. Chaque maison de vie offre annuellement entre 6000 et 12.000 nuitées aux patients et leurs familles, leur permettant ainsi de poursuivre leur traitement dans la dignité.

Les maisons de vies ont pour but :

- D’héberger les patients et leur famille durant la période de leur traitement ambulatoire.
- D’assurer aux patients un suivi régulier de leur traitement.
- D’accompagner les malades en leur apportant le soutien moral et psychologique nécessaire.
- De leur organiser des activités sociales et culturelles.

De plus en plus de bénévoles rejoignent les équipes des maisons de vie et s’engagent personnellement et professionnellement auprès des patients : accueil, orientation, accompagnement, sensibilisation, éducation sanitaire, organisation d’activités ludiques et éducatives…

Pour devenir bénévole, cliquez ici

Maison de vie "adulte" Casablanca : Avenue Nador, El Fida Tél : 05 22 83 83 23 - Fax : 05 22 85 29 38

Maison de vie "enfant" Casablanca: Boulevard Al Qods, Hay My Abdellah, Rue 201 Aïn Chok
Tél. :05 22 52 22 52 Fax : 05 22 52 22 05

Maison de vie Agadir : Près Hôpital Hassan II Tél et fax : 05 28 84 09 05

Maison de vie Fès : CHU Hassan II, Route de Sidi Harazem Tél et fax : 05 35 61 84 22

Maison de vie Marrakech : Avenue des facultés Amerchich 40000 à proximité du CHU Mohamed VI Marrakech
Tél : 05 24 30 88 88 -Fax : 05 24 30 45 45

Maison de vie Meknès:Lot Walili, N° 248 Sidi Baba – Meknès – Tél. : 05 35 52 20 80