The different sorts of tobacco

The cigarette is the most wide-spread mode of smoking but is not the only one, as tobacco is also used in other forms that attract more the younger consumers.

Tobacco to smoke

  • The cigarette

Cigarettes were originally made of pure paper and tobacco, but since the 60s more and more additives have been incorporated in their composition. Nowadays, smokers do inhale about 4,000 chemical substances through their cigarette, knowing that 60 of them at least are classified as highly carcinogenic by the International Committee of Cancer Research.

Some of these additives are incredibly scary: acetone which is a solvent; hydrocyanic acid, infamous since the gas chambers; carbon monoxide, the gas exhausted by our cars’ mufflers; the DDT which is an insecticide quite as the nicotine; some arsenic, a very powerful poison…

The different sorts of tobacco

 

  • Shag tobacco

The “rolly”, made of shag tobacco, is cheaper than the cigarette because less taxed, and this way of smoking wins more ground each year over an increasing number of followers, especially the youngest teens. The hand-made cigarettes are more harmful than the manufactured cigarettes because the inhalation of tar and nicotine is sharply superior as they have no filter. Furthermore, the shag tobacco must be repeatedly relit, thus multiplying the exposure to CO and tars.

The different sorts of tobacco

 

  • Cigar and pipe

Because of the smoke composition, the nicotine is more easily absorbed by the oral mucous membrane. That is the reason why the persons who are used to pipe or cigar do not inhale the smoke, as it is unnecessary to feel the effect of nicotine. The problem is that the smokers who consume also cigarettes do inhale the smoke anyway because of the habit, hence inducing more absorption of dangerous products. Consequently, pipes and cigars are at least as harmful as the classic cigarettes.

The different sorts of tobacco The different sorts of tobacco

 

  • Bubble pipe or hookah

The bubble pipe is another way of smoking tobacco, generally flavored, coal burnt and then cooled in passing through water. But in spite of this special process, the smoke causes the same damages. The toxicity is indeed equivalent to that of the manufactured cigarette. Furthermore, the exposure time to tobacco is much longer, around 45 minutes, and the tobacco contained in a hookah is equal to that of 10 cigarettes.


The different sorts of tobacco

 

  • “Beedis”

The Beedis are these thin Indian cigarettes made of a rolled leaf of eucalyptus and stuffed depending on the type of the beedi: pure tobacco, flavored tobacco, tobacco plus aromatic herbs, aromatic herbs without tobacco, and so on.

Thus beedis’ toxicity is all the more important as they carry no filter..

The different sorts of tobacco

 

Smokeless tobacco

  • From plug to snus

Prior to the industrial period that brought forth the cigarette into modern times, the tobacco was often consumed in plug or quid (rolled and chewed tobacco leaf) or in snuff (crumbled tobacco introduced into the nostril). In general, developing countries are those that keep on using these modes of consuming tobacco. But a new way of use called “snus” is a mix between the plug and the sniff. An average dose of snuff tobacco kept in mouth during thirty minutes will let loose so much nicotine as four cigarettes. The snuff creates more addiction than the chewing tobacco and both forms present risks of cancer of the mouth and the digestive system.

http://www.stop-tabac.ch/fra/gerer-le-manque/les-differents-types-de-dependance.html

www.commentfaiton.com/fiche/voir/16572/comment-connaitre-la-toxicite-des-differents-types-de-tabac

www.respir.com/doc/abonne/pathologie/tabac/TabacTypes.asp

sante.lefigaro.fr/mieux-etre/tabac-alcool-drogues/tabac-differents-types

www.tastout.ulg.ac.be/pages/comm18.htm

Les différents types de tabac

La cigarette est le mode le plus répandu de consommation du tabac. Néanmoins, celui-ci est aussi utilisé sous d'autres formes qui attirent des consommateurs de plus en plus jeunes.

Le tabac fumé 

  • La cigarette

Constituées de papier et de tabac, les cigarettes ont depuis les années 60 de plus en plus d’ajouts divers et variés. Au total plus de 4 000 substances chimiques inhalées par la fumée de cigarettes, dont plus de 60 classées cancérigènes par le Comité International de Recherche sur le Cancer.

En voici quelques-unes à vous faire pâlir d’angoisse : de l’acétone qui est un dissolvant ; de l’acide cyanhydrique qui était employé autrefois dans les chambres à gaz; du monoxyde de carbone qui sort des pots d’échappement de nos voitures, du DDT qui est un insecticide tout comme la nicotine; de l’arsenic, un poison très puissant…

Les différents types de tabac
 
  • Le tabac à rouler

Le tabac à rouler, moins cher que la cigarette car moins taxé, conquiert d'année en année de plus en plus d’adeptes, surtout les jeunes. Le tabac à rouler est plus nocif que les cigarettes manufacturées car les rendements de goudrons et de nicotine sont nettement supérieurs. De plus, les cigarettes roulées doivent être rallumées à plusieurs reprises ce qui renforce l'exposition au CO et aux goudrons.

Les différents types de tabac
 
  • Le cigare et la pipe

Du fait de la composition de la fumée, la nicotine est plus facilement absorbée par la muqueuse buccale. C'est pourquoi ceux qui n'ont jamais consommé de tabac sous d'autres formes n'avalent pas la fumée puisque c'est inutile pour ressentir l'effet de la nicotine. En revanche, les fumeurs qui consomment des cigarettes ont du mal, du fait de l'habitude, à ne pas inhaler la fumée, entraînant ainsi une absorption de produits nocifs plus importante. Ainsi, les pipes et les cigares ne sont généralement pas moins nocifs que les cigarettes classiques.

Les différents types de tabac Les différents types de tabac
 
  • Le narguilé ou la chicha

Le narguilé permet de fumer du tabac, aromatisé ou pas, chauffé grâce à un charbon et dont la fumée est refroidie en passant à travers de l'eau. Malgré ce passage dans l'eau, la fumée n’est pas moins nocive. La toxicité est en effet équivalente à celle de la cigarette manufacturée. Cependant, la durée d'exposition au tabac est généralement longue, autour de 45 minutes, et le tabac contenu équivaut à 10 cigarettes.

Les différents types de tabac
 
  • Bidies

Il s'agit de cigarettes indiennes, composées d'une feuille d'eucalyptus roulée dont le contenu peut varier en fonction du type de bidies : tabac pur, tabac aromatisé, tabac et herbes aromatiques, herbes aromatiques sans tabac.

La toxicité des bidies est donc d'autant plus grande qu'il n'y a pas de filtre.

Les différents types de tabac


Le tabac non fumé 

  • De la chique au snus

Avant la période industrielle, qui a introduit la cigarette, le tabac était souvent consommé sous forme de chique (feuille de tabac roulée et mastiquée) ou de prise (tabac émietté et introduit dans le nez). Ces modes de consommation perdurent en particulier dans les pays en voie de développement. Un nouveau mode de consommation appelé snus ou snuff est le croisement de la chique et de la prise. Une dose moyenne de tabac à priser, conservée dans la bouche durant une trentaine de minutes, procure autant de nicotine que quatre cigarettes. Le tabac à priser crée plus de dépendance que le tabac à chiquer et les deux formes présentent des risques de cancer au niveau de la cavité buccale et du système digestif.

http://www.stop-tabac.ch/fra/gerer-le-manque/les-differents-types-de-dependance.html

www.commentfaiton.com/fiche/voir/16572/comment-connaitre-la-toxicite-des-differents-types-de-tabac

www.respir.com/doc/abonne/pathologie/tabac/TabacTypes.asp

sante.lefigaro.fr/mieux-etre/tabac-alcool-drogues/tabac-differents-types

www.tastout.ulg.ac.be/pages/comm18.htm