The cervical cancer

The cervix cancer is second in the list of cancers affecting women. Only in Morocco and every year, there would be around 2,000 new declared cases of cervix cancer. Before 2010, two thirds of the cervix cancers were diagnosed and treated at a very late stage in the different oncology centers. But since, a program of systematic screening has been implemented throughout the country, a program which greatly contributed in reducing the dramatic consequences often induced by a too late treatment.

  • Risk factors
  • Warning symptoms
  • Early detection
  • Treatment
  • Invasive Cancers
  • Related Links
Cervix cancer

 

  • Risk factors

 Age: the risk of developing cervix cancer increases while growing in age.

Tobacco: the smoke inhaled through cigarettes contains chemicals that jeopardize the genetic structure of the body’s cells (DNA), as these substances do damage the cells till turning them into cancerous ones.

An early sexual activity: as for the women having sexual activity too young, they increase the risk of developing a cervix cancer. It seems that the human papilloma virus (HPV) infects easier the cervical of a young woman, because the cells of her cervix are not fully formed yet. The HPV is a sexually transmitted disease.

Certain forms of HPV can cause the mutation of the cervix cells into cancer cells.

Women using condoms or diaphragms every time they have sex decrease the risk of developing a cervix cancer.

  • Warning symptoms

In its starting phase, the cervix cancer usually presents no sign no symptom, which explains the importance of proceeding to regular screenings of the cervical.

Once the cancer is at a more advanced stage, different forerunner symptoms can show up, such as:

Vaginal bleeding after sex, between periods or after menopause;

Menstruations more profuse or longer than usual;

Nauseous vaginal mucus;

Pain while having sex;

Pains or backache in or around the pelvis.

  • Prevention

Cervix cancer can be prevented, as it is a sexually contagious viral infection caused by the Human Papilloma Virus. Nowadays, a vaccine is marketed, immunizing teen girls against HPV. Young girls receive a shot before any sexual activity, generally around ten or eleven years old.

Cervix cancer control and prevention are thus possible by applying:

• Primary Prevention: vaccination of the girls from 10 years old past

• Secondary Prevention: implementation of a program of cervix cancer early screening.

Treatment

The therapeutic options vary according to the gravity of the anomalies discovered by the doctor.

The precancerous lesions must be treated as a top urgent matter; the therapeutic means are diverse and depend on the stage of the lesion:

Cryotherapy: uses freezing temperatures to destroy the abnormal cells.

Diathermy Loop Excision(DLE)

Laser surgery: laser rays are concentrated on the precancerous cells.

Surgical conization: the surgeon removes a conical fragment from the cervix to eradicate the abnormal cells.

Invasive cancers require an appropriate treatment:

Surgery: consists in the ablation of the tumor and of the surrounding cellular tissues. The surgery can be delimited to a restricted zone in case of early diagnosis. However in general, the hysterectomy turns out to be necessary. For more advanced tumors, the doctor will have to proceed to a total hysterectomy with complete ablation of the womb, but also of a part of the vagina, the tissues surrounding the cervical as well as the lymph nodes.

Radiotherapy: the radiotherapy consists in concentrating ionizing rays on the cancer cells so as to destroy them. In certain cases, the radioactive source can be inserted inside the body, close to the tumor.

Chemotherapy: in case of cervix cancer, chemotherapy can be combined with radiotherapy, to make the treatment more effective. These medicines are administered by injection.

 

  • Liens utiles

Le cancer du col utérin

Le cancer du col de l’utérus est le deuxième cancer qui touche les femmes. Au niveau national, il y aurait chaque année environ 2 000 nouveaux cas de cancer du col de l’utérus. Avant 2010, les 2/3 des cas de cancer du col étaient diagnostiqués et pris en charge à un stade très avancé dans les différents centres d’oncologie. Depuis, il existe un programme de dépistage systématique ceci permet de réduire les conséquences souvent dramatiques d’une prise en charge tardive.

Le cancer du col

 

  • Facteurs de risques 

L’âge : Le risque de développer le cancer du col de l'utérus augmente avec l'âge. 

Le tabagisme : La fumée des cigarettes contient des produits chimiques qui risquent d’endommager la structure génétique (ADN) des cellules du corps, et qui peuvent les transformer en cellules cancéreuses. 
 
Une activité sexuelle précoce : Les femmes qui ont leur première relation sexuelle à un jeune âge augmentent leur risque de développer le cancer du col de l'utérus. Il serait probable que le virus du papillome humain (VPH) infecte plus facilement le col de l'utérus d'une jeune femme, parce que les cellules du col de son utérus sont immatures.
Le VPH est une maladie sexuellement transmissible. Certains types de VPH peuvent causer la transformation des cellules du col de l'utérus en cellules cancéreuses.
 
Les femmes qui utilisent des préservatifs ou des diaphragmes à chaque rapport sexuel diminuent leur risque de cancer du col de l’utérus. 
 
  • Symptômes
À ses débuts, le cancer du col de l’utérus se forme habituellement sans aucun signe ou symptôme, d’où l’importance de se soumettre régulièrement à un test de PAP. 
 
Lorsque le cancer est plus avancé, les symptômes suivants peuvent se manifester :
Saignements vaginaux après les relations sexuelles, entre les menstruations ou après la ménopause.
Menstruations plus abondantes ou plus longues.
Écoulements vaginaux nauséabonds.
Douleur durant les relations sexuelles.
Douleur au bassin ou au bas du dos.
 
  • Prévention
Le cancer cervical peut être prévenu. Il s’agit d’une infection virale sexuellement transmissible causée par le VPH. Il existe actuellement un vaccin qui confère une immunité pour se protéger contre le VPH. Ce vaccin est administré aux jeunes filles avant toute activité sexuelle, en général vers l’âge de dix onze ans. 
Le contrôle et la prévention du cancer du col sont donc possibles :
 
Prévention primaire : vaccination des petites filles à partir de 10 ans
Prévention secondaire : mise en œuvre d’un programme de détection précoce du cancer cervical 
 
  • Traitement
Les options thérapeutiques varient selon la gravité des anomalies découvertes par le médecin.
Les lésions précancéreuses doivent être traitéesen urgence ; les moyens thérapeutiques sont divers et dépendent du stade de la lésion :
 
La Cryothérapie utilise le froid extrême pour détruire les cellules anormales.
La résection à l’Anse diathermique (RAD) 
Chirurgie laser : des rayons lumineux très puissants sont dirigés vers les cellules précancéreuses.
Conisation chirurgicalele médecin retire un fragment du col en forme de cône, afin d’enlever les cellules anormales. 
 
Les cas de cancers invasifs nécessitent un traitement approprié :
 
Chirurgie : On procède à l’ablation de la tumeur et de tissus voisins. L’intervention peut se limiter à une zone restreinte, dans le cas de cancers très précoces. L’hystérectomie s’avère toutefois généralement nécessaire. Pour certaines tumeurs plus avancées, le médecin devra effectuer une hystérectomie radicale avec ablation complète de l’utérus, mais également d’une partie du vagin, des tissus adjacents à l’utérus et des ganglions lymphatiques. 
Radiothérapie : La radiothérapie consiste à diriger des rayons ionisants vers les cellules cancéreuses pour les détruire. Dans certains cas, la source radioactive peut être insérée à l’intérieur du corps, près de la tumeur. 
 
Chimiothérapie : Pour le cancer du col de l’utérus, la chimiothérapie peut être combinée avec la radiothérapie, afin de rendre les traitements plus efficaces. Ces médicaments sont administrés sous forme d’injection. 
 
  • Liens utiles