Smoking addiction

Smoking creates sensations that quickly lead the smoker towards addiction. This dependency can happen very fast, in a few weeks, and even much less for certain persons.

 
Why is it so hard to quit smoking?
The cigarette is source of pleasure and the smokers cannot give it up easily. There are indeed two kinds of smoking addiction:
 
  • The physical addiction
The nicotine is a powerful drug inducing strong effects on the brain (psychotropic substance).
Every regular smoker gets gradually used to a certain quantity of nicotine in the body. Below this dose of nicotine concentration in the blood, different from one person to the other, the effects of lack appear (ill-being, irritability, anxiety, insomnias, etc.) and the need of smoking becomes uncontrollable. This case is that of the pharmacological or chemical dependency.
 
  • Gestural and psychological addiction
The ritual of smoking becomes a habit which is unconsciously associated, in the course of the months and years, with positive situations of life (success, pleasant events, meetings between friends, fine meal, etc.) and/or denials situations (stress, contrariety, negative feelings, anxiety, loneliness, ennui, etc.).
Beyond the nicotine addiction, the rite of the cigarette becomes a habit which is not easy to loose.
Thus the sensations of satisfaction given by smoking produce and maintain this addiction, also called “behavioral addiction”.
This addiction can be put under control only by one’s own will.
Hence, it seems fundamental to recognize and determine the situations leading us to have recourse to tobacco so as we can manage our reactions during the period of coming off.
 
  • How can you check your physical addiction to nicotine?
Fagerström Test, approved by the experts’ international corpus, can help you out to review your physical dependency in six questions about the quantity of cigarettes that you smoke, the time lapse between the awakening and the first cigarette, the difficulty you have to abstain smoking when you are sick or in non-smokers areas…
 

Test your tobacco addiction:

  1. Test of Horn
  2. ALSC - Lagrue and Légeron Test
  3. ALSC – Fagerstrom Test
 
What are the typical signs showing tobacco lack?
The syndrome of lack appears under various and very characteristic forms that do not show up necessarily at the same time and are often separated by periods of time. The most frequent withdrawal symptoms affecting the smokers are:
 
• Strong drives to smoke;
• Irritability, nervousness, excitement, anxiety;
• Sleeping disturbances;
• Depressive humor;
• Concentration trouble, increasing appetite, constipation;
 
All these disorders are the major causes of the difficulties and of the little failures on the short term; they are in direct link with the lack of nicotine and can be significantly reduced by an adapted care.
 
Many people try to reduce the daily quantity of cigarettes, which is not a solution at all, because the studies showed that, instinctively, the smoker will somehow or other be consuming his usual dose of nicotine anyway.
By decreasing the number of cigarettes he is used to smoke every day, the smoker will tend to breathe deeper drags, to inhale more profoundly and to leave a smaller butt. The same happens if the smoker switches to light cigarettes or to less nicotine content. Therefore, as hard as it can be, better face the problem rather than burry one’s head in the sand…

La dépendance

Fumer provoque des sensations qui entrainent rapidement le fumeur vers la dépendance. Cette dépendance peut s'installer très rapidement au bout de quelques semaines, voire beaucoup moins pour certaines personnes. 

Pourquoi est-il si difficile d’arrêter de fumer ?

La cigarette est une source de nombreux plaisirs et les fumeurs peuvent en devenir dépendants. Il existe en effet deux types de dépendance au tabac :

  • La dépendance physique
La nicotine est une puissante drogue qui agit sur le cerveau (substance psychotrope).
Chaque personne, qui fume régulièrement, s’habitue progressivement à une dose individuelle de nicotine dans son organisme. En dessous de ce seuil de nicotinémie (dose dans le sang), variable d’un individu à l’autre, les effets de manque (mal-être, irritabilité, anxiété, insomnies, etc.) apparaissent et le besoin de fumer devient irrépressible. C’est une dépendance pharmacologique ou chimique.
 
  • La dépendance gestuelle et psychologique
Le geste de fumer devient une habitude qui est inconsciemment associée, au fil des mois et des années, à des situations de vie positives (succès, réussite, événements agréables, réunions entre amis, bon repas, etc.) et/ou négatives (stress, contrariété, émotions, angoisse, solitude, ennui, etc.).
Le rituel de la cigarette est, au delà de la dépendance à la nicotine, devient une habitude dont il n'est pas simple de se détacher.
Les sensations de satisfaction ressenties alors en fumant produisent et entretiennent cette dépendance que l’on nomme aussi comportementale.
Elle est sous le contrôle de la volonté.
Il est fondamental de pouvoir repérer les situations dans lesquelles on a recours au tabac pour les gérer pendant la période de sevrage.
 

Comment savoir si l’on est dépendant physiquement à la nicotine ?

Le test de Fagerström, validé par l’ensemble des experts internationaux, permet de faire le point sur sa dépendance physique en six questions portant sur la quantité de cigarettes que l’on fume, le laps de temps qui s’écoule entre le réveil et la première cigarette, la difficulté que l’on a à s’abstenir de fumer lorsqu’on est malade ou dans les zones non-fumeurs.

Testez votre dépendance à la nicotine:

À quels signes reconnaît-on que l’on est en manque de nicotine ?

Il existe différentes manifestations caractéristiques du syndrome de manque ; elles ne se présentent pas forcément toutes à la fois et sont le plus souvent dissociées dans le temps. Les symptômes de manque les plus fréquemment cités par les fumeurs sont :

-  Des pulsions fortes à fumer ;
-  De l’irritabilité, de la nervosité, de l’agitation, de l’anxiété ;
-  Des perturbations du sommeil ;
-  Une humeur dépressive ;
-  Des troubles de la concentration, de même qu’une augmentation de l’appétit ou une constipation.

Tous ces troubles sont les principales causes des difficultés et des échecs à court terme ; ils sont essentiellement liés au manque de nicotine et peuvent être considérablement améliorés par une prise en charge adaptée

Diminuer le nombre de cigarettes fumées n’est pas une solution, car des expériences ont montré que, par un phénomène inconscient, le fumeur va chercher à absorber sa dose habituelle de nicotine. Il aura donc tendance, s’il diminue le nombre de cigarettes fumées par jour, à tirer plus sur celles-ci, à inspirer plus profondément et à laisser un mégot plus petit. Il en sera de même si le fumeur passe à des cigarettes light ou à plus faible teneur en nicotine. Par conséquent, même si c’est dur, mieux vaut affronter le problème de face plutôt que de se voiler la face…