Who to turn to

By going to the right place, you will benefit from:

- a screening
- a diagnosis
- an appropriated treatment

You can go to:

- one of the different healthcare structures depending of the Ministry of Health (basic healthcare centers, reproductive health reference centers, hospitals, oncology centers)
- to the general practitioners or specialists, or private oncology centers

The national program of fight against cancer has been structured by the Ministry of Health following a process of easy access to healthcare on three levels, thus allowing to direct the patient towards the care structure adapted to his case.

  • Level 1

Who to turn to

Healthcare centers:

Totalizing more than 2,500 in the whole country, the healthcare centers provide consultations given by general practitioners and a full-time presence nurse. These healthcare professionals can answer all of your questions about cancer.

An awareness campaign on breast and cervix cancers is scheduled every year by the Foundation of Lalla Salma against Cancer. Take the opportunity to get a free screening in the public healthcare the closest to where you live.

General practices:

Do not hesitate to ask for advice and information to your family doctor who can redirect you after further examinations towards the adequate structure.

  • Level 2

Who to turn to

When the first examinations are carried out and after the study of your medical file by the general practitioner (level 1), your family doctor will direct you to the structure which will take over your case, to make complementary examinations (ultrasound, mammography, biopsy, radiology) and to have a first diagnosis made by a specialist (gynecologist, pulmonologist, urologist).

- District and province hospitals

- Specialists’ offices and private hospitals

- Reference centers of reproductive health (only breast and cervix cancers)

  • Level 3

Who to turn to

Once the diagnosis completed by a specialist, the treatment and the follow-up of the patient are taken over by the competent structure, equipped for that very purpose (surgery, chemotherapy, radiotherapy, nuclear medicine).

- University hospitals

- Oncology regional centers

- Private ward cancer hospitals

A qui s’adresser

En vous adressant à la structure appropriée, vous bénéficierez : 

- d’un dépistage
- d’un diagnostic
- d’un traitement adéquat
 
Vous pouvez vous adresser :
 
- aux différentes structures du Ministère de la Santé (centres de santé de base, centres de référence de la santé reproductive, hôpitaux, centres d’oncologie…)
- aux cabinets de médecins généralistes et spécialistes, les centres d’oncologie privés
 
Le programme national de lutte contre le cancer a été conçu par le Ministère de la Santé par le biais d’un processus d’accès aux soins sur plusieurs niveaux, permettant ainsi d’orienter le patient vers la structure de soins qui leur convient.
 
  • Niveau 1

A qui adresser

Les centres de santé 
 
Au nombre de plus de 2500 sur tout le territoire, les centres de santé proposent des consultations de généralistes et la présence permanente d’une infirmière. Ces professionnels de la santé peuvent répondre à toutes vos interrogations sur le cancer.
Une campagne de sensibilisation sur les cancers du sein et du col de l’utérus est programmée chaque année par la Fondation Lalla Salma de Lutte contre le Cancer. Profitez-en pour bénéficier d’un dépistage gratuit dans le centre de santé public le plus proche de chez vous. 
 
Les cabinets de médecins généralistes
 
N’hésitez pas à demander conseil et informations à votre médecin généraliste qui pourra vous diriger, suite à des premiers examens, vers la structure adéquate.
 
  • Niveau 2

A qui adresser

Une fois les premiers examens réalisés et après l’étude de votre dossier par votre médecin traitant (niveau 1), votre médecin vous orientera vers la structure qui prendra le relais, afin de faire des examens complémentaires (échographie, mammographie, biopsie, radiologie…) et de poser un premier diagnostic par un médecin spécialiste (gynécologue, pneumologue, urologue...).

- Les hôpitaux préfectoraux et provinciaux

- Les cabinets et cliniques des médecins spécialistes 

- Les centres de référence de la santé reproductive (uniquement cancers du sein et du col de l’utérus)

 

  • Niveau 3

A qui adresser

Une fois le diagnostic posé par un médecin spécialiste, le traitement et le suivi du patient se font au niveau des structures spécialisées, équipées à cet effet (chirurgie, chimiothérapie, radiothérapie, médecine nucléaire...).

- Les centres hospitaliers universitaires
- Les centres régionaux d’oncologie
- Les cliniques privées d’oncologie